Blog 83: Community spirit on the Southbank

Back from a trip to the Southbank and I still have goose bumps.

37 screens showing scenes of Shakespeare plays along the River, mentioned on Radio 4 on Saturday evening was my first prompt.

My plan was to negotiate the crowds attending the Marathon and off to Blackfriars bridge tube station I went.

I have always been a supporter of the marathon but from afar, not really engaging but this has definitely now changed!

As I crossed the Bridge on my way to the Shakespeare events I could hear the cheering and feeling already the support and community feeling around the activities taking place below. Runners at the 24-mile point and people lining the road and on the bridge above shouting encouragement for them to keep going. I never imagined the impact this would have on me. Not meant for the visitor aiming for the cultural experience; the crowds, cheering and community spirit surrounding me has been like a shot in the dark and has opened another door to the inspirational experiences and opportunities around me.

Leave a Reply

